An independent, non-commercial site to collect and disseminate information on the natural history of Shetland

contact us

About these pages

Nature in Shetland

winner of a Shetland Environment Award 2004


Shetland Entomological Group



The following groups of arthropods (centipedes, millipedes and spiders) have been studied in Shetland.

None of these lists can be reproduced without written permission from SEG or SBRC.

  • centipedes
  • compiled by Paul Harvey with thanks to David Scott-Langley for information
    Schendyla nemorensis
    Strigamia maritima
    Geophilus proximus  an RDB species not found anywhere else in Britain
    Geophilus insculptus
    Brachygeophilus truncorum
    Lithobius forficatus
    L. melanops
    L. borealis
    Lamyetes fulvicornis
  • millipedes
  • compiled by Paul Harvey with thanks to David Scott-Langley for information
    Proteroiulus fuscus
    Cylindroiulus latestriatus
    Brachydesmus superus


  • spiders
  • compiled by Paul Harvey from information supplied by Ed Milner
    Amaurobius fenestralis (Stroem,1768)
    Cryphoeca silvicola (C. L. Koch, 1834)
    Pholcus phalangioides (Fuesslin, 1775) Spindly Spider RS
    Drassodes lapidosus (Walckenaer, 1802)
    Haplodrassus signifer (C. L. Koch, 1839)
    Gnaphosa leporina (L. Koch, 1866)
    Clubiona phragmitis (C. L. Koch, 1843)
    C. trivialis (C. L. Koch, 1843)
    C. diversa (O. P. - Cambridge, 1862)
    Agroeca proxima (O. P. - Cambridge, 1871)
    Xysticus cristatus (Clerck, 1757)
    Ozyptila trux (Blackwall, 1846)
    Neon reticulatus (Blackwall, 1853)
    Hasarius adansoni (Audouin, 1926)  (I)
    Pardosa palustris (Linnaeus, 1758)
    P. pullata (Clerck, 1757)
    P. nigriceps (Thorell, 1856)
    Xerolycosa miniata (C. L. Koch, 1834)
    Alopecosa pulverulenta (Clerck, 1757)
    Trochosa ruricola (Degeer, 1778)
    T. terricola (Thorell, 1856)
    Arctosa perita (Latreille, 1799)
    Pirata piraticus (Clerck, 1757)
    P. tenuitarsis (Simon, 1876)
    Ero furcata (Villers, 1789)
    Textrix denticulata (Olivier, 1789)
    Tegenaria saeva (Blackwall, 1844) (I?)
    T. gigantea (?) (I?) Giant House Spider RS
    T. domestica (Clerck. 1757) Lesser House Spider
    Antistea elegans (Blackwall, 1841)
    Hahnia montana (Blackwall, 1841)
    H. nava (Blackwall, 1841)
    Robertus lividus (Blackwall, 1836)
    R. arundineti (O. P. - Cambridge 1871)
    Tetragnatha extensa (Linnaeus, 1758)
    Pachygnatha clercki (Sundevall, 1823)
    P. degeeri (Sundevall, 1830)
    Metellina segmentata (Clerck, 1757)
    M. mengei (Blackwall, 1869)
    M. merianae (Scopoli, 1763)
    Zygiella x-notata (Clerck, 1757)
    Araneus diadematus (Clerk, 1757) Garden Spider
    Ceratinella brevipes (Westring, 1851)
    Walckenaeria acuminata (Blackwall, 1833)
    W. antica (Wider, 1834)
    W. nodosa (O. P. - Cambridge, 1873)
    W. capito (Westring, 1871)
    W. nudipalpis (Westring, 1851)
    W. clavicornis (Emerton, 1882)
    W. cuspidata (Blackwall, 1833)
    W. vigilax (Blackwall, 1833)
    Dicymbium nigrum (Blackwall, 1834)
    D. brevisetosum (Locket, 1962)
    Entelecara errata (O. P. - Cambridge, 1913)
    Dismodicus bifrons (Blackwall, 1841)
    Hypomma bituberculatum (Wider, 1834)
    Metopobactrus prominulus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1872)
    Baryphyma trifrons (O. P. - Cambridge, 1863)
    Gonatium rubens (Blackwall, 1833)
    Pepanocranium ludicrum (O. P. - Cambridge, 1861)
    Pocadicnemis pumila (Blackwall, 1841)
    Oedothorax gibbosus (Blackwall, 1841)
    O. fuscus (Blackwall, 1834)
    O. retusus (Westring, 1851)
    Trichopterna thorelli (Westring, 1861)
    Pelecopsis nemoralis (Blackwall, 1841)
    Silometopus elegans (O. P. - Cambridge, 1872)
    S. ambiguus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1905)
    Cnephalocotes obscurus (Blackwall, 1834)
    Tiso vagans (Blackwall, 1834)
    Tapinocyba pallens (O. P. - Cambridge, 1872)
    Tapinocyboides pygmaeus (Menge, 1869)
    Monocephalus fuscipes (Blackwall, 1836)
    M. castaneipes (Simon, 1884)
    Lophomma punctatum (Blackwall, 1841)
    Gongylidiellum vivum (O. P. - Cambridge, 1875)
    Micrargus apertus
    Erigonella hiemalis (Blackwall, 1841)
    Savignia frontata (Blackwall, 1873)
    Diplocephalus cristatus (Blackwall, 1833)
    D. permixtus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1871)
    D. latifrons (O. P. Cambridge, 1863)
    Araeoncus crassiceps (Westring, 1861)
    Scotinotylus evansi (O. P. - Cambridge, 1894)
    Typhochrestus digitatus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1872)
    Erigone dentipalps (Wider, 1834)
    E. atra (Blackwall, 1833)
    E. promiscua (O. P. - Cambridge, 1872)
    E. arctica (White, 1852)
    E. longipalpis (Sundevall, 1830)
    E. capra (Simon, 1884)
    Mecynargus (Rhaebothorax) morulus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1873)
    Latithorax faustus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1900)
    Semilicola caliginosa (Falconer, 1910)
    Leptorhoptrum robustum (Westring, 1851)
    Drepanotylus uncatus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1873)
    Leptothrix hardyi (Blackwall, 1850)
    Hilaira frigida (Thorell, 1872)
    Haloratus reprobus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1879)
    Porrhomma convexus (Westring, 1851)
    P. egeria (Simon, 1884)
    P. montanum (Jackson, 1913)
    Agyneta subtilis (O. P. - Cambridge, 1863)
    A. conigera (O. P. - Cambridge, 1863)
    A. decora (O. P. - Cambridge, 1871)
    A. cauta (O. P. - Cambridge, 1902)
    Meioneta mossica (Blackwall, 1844) (M. saxatilis, before split)
    M. gulosa (L. Koch, 1869)
    M. nigripes (Simon, 1884)
    Maro minutus (O. P. Cambridge - 1906)
    Centromerus prudens (O. P. - Cambridge, 1873)
    C. arcanus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1873)
    C. dilutus (O. P. - Cambridge, 1875)
    Centromerita bicolor (Blackwall, 1833)
    C. concinna (Thorell, 1875)
    Oreonetides vaginatus (Thorell, 1872)
    Saaristoa abnormis (Blackwall, 1841)
    Bathyphantes gracilis (Blackwall, 1841)
    B. parvulus (Westring, 1851)
    Diplostyla concolor (Wider, 1834)
    Poeciloneta variegata (Blackwall, 1841)
    Bolyphantes luteolus (Blackwall, 1833)
    B. alticeps (Sundevall, 1833)
    Lepthyphantes leprosus (Ohlert, 1865)
    L. minutus (Blackwall, 1833)
    L. obscurus (Blackwall, 1841)
    L. tenuis (Blackwall, 1852)
    L. zimmermanni (Bertkau. 1890)
    L. mengei (Kulczinski, 1887)
    L. ericaeus (Blackwall, 1853)
    Microlinyphia pusilla
    Allomengea scopigera (Grube, 1859)



    This site is not directly connected to any of the organisations mentioned, so comments  may not necessarily reflect the views of the organisations, clubs or societies  involved. The pages on this website remain the intellectual property of the authors. They may be freely downloaded, quoted or used for any purpose, providing acknowledgement is given to the website and/or the author/s. No liability is accepted for the accuracy of this information.